South Dakota Payday Loans
If you’re short on cash and need a small amount to get by, a payday loan might be a decent option for you. South Dakota has limits on how much a lender can charge, making it a much safer prospect than payday loans in other states.
How do Payday Loans in South Dakota work?
Payday loans are governed by South Dakota Codified Laws 54-4-36 et seq. and must be licensed to operate. If a lender violates the state limits, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor. So be sure you know the laws and check lender licenses before applying to be sure you’re working with a legit lender.
- Maximum loan amount: $500
- Loan term: Not specified
- Maximum APR: 36%
- Finance charge: A 14-day $100 loan costs $1.39
- Collection fees: Not specified
State laws don’t specify the maximum number of payday loans you can have out at once.
How to repay a Payday Loan in South Dakota
Since South Dakota law doesn’t specify a minimum or maximum loan term for short term loans. The repayment period will depend on the lender you’re working with.
It’s best to repay your loan on time to avoid penalty charges. If you can’t make the payments on time, you’re allowed to roll over or refinance a payday loan up to four times. Every time you want to roll over the loan, you could be charged at least 10% of the original loan amount.
How do I apply for a Payday Loan?
You can apply for a payday advance in South Dakota in two main ways. You can submit an online application or apply with a lender that has store locations in your area. You’ll typically have to meet these eligibility criteria. You should be at least 18 years of age, be an American citizen or permanent resident and have a regular source of income.
You’ll have to supply some personal information like your name, date of birth, Social Security number and a valid form of ID. Lenders will also want to know about your employment status and income. If you’re applying online, you’ll also need to provide details about your checking account.